Ideas for developing double bass chops

12 Sep

Let me start this post by saying right away that I do not claim to be an expert at playing double bass drums.

A few years back I did however spend a good amount of time developing some decent double bass chops which I wish that I still had. But, due to increasing demands of my time, I just didn’t have the time to keep double bass drumming in my regular practice routine. Oh, how I envy kids with all of the time that they have to practice!!!

Anyway, when I was into double bass, I developed my chops by simply going through “A Funky Primer” on the left foot. Also, I regularly played that drumline exercise “16th note timing” on the left foot daily.

Try this and you’ll see some improvement for sure!

Leave a Reply

